Windows vs Linux
The History
People have always been debating about Windows or Linux for well over 20 years now. I’m just here to tell you the biggest difference between them so whenever someone asked you about it at a party, you could go “Erm, actually…” and you’ll be really cool and all the girls would wanna hang out with you and buy you drinks and all the guys will be like “Woah. Cool.”…
at least i hoped so…
But I’m just gonna cover some off the bigger topics about Windows and Linux and ultimately which one you should choose.
Hardware Requirements
This is arguably one of the biggest reason most people switch to Linux. When it comes to technology, it’s not always about the latest and greatest. When older, perfectly capable tech from as little as 3 years ago can do whatever I needed to like browser the web and read this cool blog article from this guy that you’re looking at right now… so rad… or filing documents and replying to emails, it shouldn’t make sense to throw it away. But “no” says Microsoft because when the minimum requirements for Windows 11 are a processor with 1GHz or faster with 2 or more cores, 4 GB of RAM, 64GB of storage and a DirectX 12-compatible graphics card, no wonder why Linux is far more favourable.
A good comparison to Windows 11 when talking about home-based personal use like web browsing and writing documents would be Linux Mint with a minimum requirement of 1GB of RAM and 15GB!! YES 15 GIGABYT-oritos of storage for the 64-bit version. There is a 32-bit version but for this case the only difference between 32 and 64 is that 32-bit systems are limited to 4GB of total RAM. So if you’re rocking the early 2000’s fit, 32-bit would tick off just nicely.
Local Accounts
This is actually the sole reason of me moving away from icky and gooey Micro-and-soft-cock. The fact that it is now significantly difficult to install Windows 11 without a Microsoft account. I thought that this would be a personal computer that is in my personal possession and doesn’t require an internet connection to fucking operate. No Microsoft, I DON’T wanna sign in or make an account. I just wanna play minecraft man…
Technically it is still possible, but it requires you to do so much work that it would require less effort to write the bits of your own operating system yourself and boot off of that instead. And trust me, I tried. You could still install Windows 10 and using a local account, update to Windows 11. But at that point, just use Windows 10. It’s not great, but compared to whatever the fuck this dogshit 11 is, Windows 10 is like prime Mike Tyson.
Not to mention that signing in means that Microsoft has access to your computer, which isn’t as bad as you think. Because think about it. Yes, it is bad that one company could have direct access to billions of machines around the world. But why are YOU scared? You’re a boring nobody. Unless you’re a CIA agent or Chinese, I don’t think Big Microsoft would give a flying fuck about your bum-ass. But if you really value your privacy, which I highly recommend you do, Linux doesn’t ask you to log in to use their operating system. And if it does, use a different distro.
Which one do I pick?
One thing that Windows has going for it is that the development time between each new iteration on Windows, it makes its previous version practically useless. Tell me how many people was still using Windows 7 after Windows 10 came out. But when it comes to Linux, you have a world of distributions, or distros, to choose from. From Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Kali, Arch, Debian, Lesb- wait not that one… to fucking Ubuntu Satanic Edition or even Hannah Montana Linux.

Nah cuz what in the actual Doofenshmirtz is this abomination fr…
But with the huge variety of options, all with pros and cons, and some are the only options for certain solution, for beginers, is a nightmare. Until you realize that it literally doesn’t fucking matter and if you do not like a certain distro, you can just install a new one. It’s either impossible to pick the right one at the very start or just suck it up and shut the fuck up fr dawg.
Ricing
Sounding like a racist comment to Asian people, ricing is the term used to describe the practice of customizing vehicles with flashy modifications that prioritize appearance over actual performance or comfort. Following this tradition, ricing in Linux means to customize the desktop environment, which is where you would be majority of your time, to enhance visuals, functionality or workflow.

An excellent example of a simple rice on an Arch Linux system. Probably using wayland like a loser… pfft.

And whatever the fuck this thing is. I fuck with 初音ミク too but why does it look like that. I don’t know why you would want this but you can if you want… weirdo…
But the main idea is that you can change your enviroment to your heart’s content. If you can dream of it, it either already exists, or you can look up tutorials and learn how to make em yourself. It genuinely doesn’t require much knowledge and you can truly express yourself however you want when it comes to Linux. Techinically you can do the same with Windows 11, but it requires so much onboarding of third-party software, some might even be delegated after months, some eat up precious resources, and most don’t even work. With Windows 11, it’s all standardized, which is good if you just want something that works or for a professional setting like an office space.
Bloat-god RAH!!!
When it comes to having random ass fucking shit on your desktop that you don’t know how it got there and didn’t ask for in the first place and can’t remove it because it doesn’t let you, Windows 11 is the big dawg, baby. big dog baby? interesting visual. But I just fucking love it when my system dedicates 30% of it’s resources to running background process that are so vague that it makes russian spyware stick out like a sore thumb. Thank the Lord for the Windows kernel.
Linux and it’s “scary” terminal allows you to choose exactly what you want to run or stop. Sometimes so much so that you can delete itself by running something like rm -rf -- "$0" where rm stands for remove and the -r flag stands for recursive and the -f flag means forefully and the "$0" means from the very begining which includes the code that runs the operating system itself, and the code that tells the motherboard to boot into an operating system. So yes, with Linux, you can commit cannibalism. We got Jeffery Epstein computer before GTA 5 fr.
Drivers and the hellscape that is Nvidia
If you like pain and suffering, consider working at Nvidia. Pronounced an-vee-dih-yeah, the uptight, money-hungry, disengenious, narcists at Nvidia fucking adores to bully others, especially anyone in the Linux community. It is notorious for being absolutely fucking horrible to try and run any kind of distro on an Nvidia card because their drivers, the software that tells the computer how my piece of hardware runs, is not open source. AMD, makers of the RX GPU series, open source they’re code and are in good communications with kernel coders, as in the people who design the Linux Kernel, the code that runs the code that runs programs. Even motherfucking Intel, those fuckers has their drivers open source, albeit not as intuitive to implement into the Linux ecosystem.
Here’s what Linus Torvald, one of the developers and founder of the Linux kernel, has to say about Nvidia back in June of 2012.
I would’ve done the same if I wasn’t 6 years old at the time.
The biggest thing about Linux is their drivers. That’s the number factor when it comes to deciding between the blue and penguin. Drivers are a piece of technology that if works well, domincates the world. MP3, PDFs, H.264, DirectX are drivers that licensed, meaning that you need to pay to use it, dominate the market not because it’s any good, but because everyone else is using it so I have to support it too. Everyone uses MP3 so I have to support MP3 too, even FLAC encoding is 5000x better than anything out that fucking garbage MP3 doohicky.
Linux is open source. So it does not make money from people using their product. They make money from contracts and subscriptions for enterprise services and donations from users and companies. So supporting licensed bullshit like DirectX isn’t worth the money when shit like Vulkan exists that does the exact same thing or sometimes better because it has better support on an open platform. If everyone can share, everyone suceeds.
Why doesn’t it work on Linux?
When you have been dominating the market since early 2000s, the question of “What operating system are you using” sounds out of place. It’s Windows, duh. Until the recent years. Everyone who had a computer, ran some kind of Windows version and there was no question about it. At this time, Linux was mainly used in servers and developing other software like macOS or Android. So as an app developer, would you even consider making your code support alternative operating systems? No. Everyone is standardized. Everyone uses H.264 encoding, everyone uses DirectX, everyone had an x86 based CPU, everyone used a Windows API. Which is why most apps that could work on Windows, don’t work on Linux because it is not properly supported. We have come a long way from that, like Wine, a compatibility layer that lets you run Windows applications on Linux, or Proton which is a continuation of Wine mainly for gaming, and boy can I write a two thousand word article on just Proton… or I just might… or even writing programs that run on Linux at the first place like OBS or VLC that work on Linux and Windows due to its open source nature. Nowadays it’s either, if it’s open source, it works on Linux, if it ain’t, don’t use it.
I HAVE to talk about gaming just a wittle here. Gabe Newell… this guy-

Is probably the biggest (pun intended) reason that gaming is as big as it is today. From Valve, to Steam, and Steam hardware, to support and community, AI and a fuck ton of cool shit this guy has done. Ok ok so- he noticed back in around 2013 that Microsoft wanted to have full control on gaming. This was like big just before the Xbox One was released and he saw that Microsoft wanted to make sure that if you were gaming on a computer, not a console or a handheld, it HAD to be on a Windows operating system. Which wouldn’t matter as much if Windows wasn’t already so fucking dogshit because Windows was primarily an office first operating system. It was founded to help accountants make documents and not gaming on Quake. So Gabe made sure that all Valve games, and Steam games could work with out a Windows API, meaing work on Linux.
This man took it upon Steam to make sure every single game on is being sold on Steam can be run without a Windows operating system. They even released they’re own operating system, SteamOS back in December 13, 2013 and using the Proton compatibility layer that they developed which ran Windows-only games on non-Windows operating systems like Linux. Nowadays, games already have Linux support or even run natively on Linux, which means if not supported, wouldn’t run on Windows. And I think is the sickest fucking thing a man can do.
My battery keeps dying
Memory leak sounds like alzheimer but for computers, but a memory leak is a huge issue. Typically in servers where the program uses the memory for it’s protcol and functions, and when it’s done with it, it should update the system telling it that the memory space is now usable by other applications. But when the program doesn’t free up that unused space, it stays unusable, because the operating system doesn’t know if the program still needs it or not. Imagine like booking an Airbnb for a vacation. But instead of checking out, you left it hooked even though you are no longer staying there. And it gradually runs up the bill. It’s the same thing with a memory leakag, where the operating system thinks it is running out of memory because the program keeps requesting for more but doesn’t realize that the program isn’t utilizing it. The only way to ‘solve’ this is to have complete understanding of memory management of the program, and unless you are a God or writting Ffmpeg, you probably might encounter memory leakage from time to time.
Now think about this but on an operating layer. The more programs you run in the background, the more resources you use, the more battery you use. Windows LOVE to run background processes for whatever fucking reason, and you can’t end it because ion fucking know dude. Windows’ resource utilization is so fucking ass that it makes a macbook look like a piece of alien technology. You will notice just how much memory usage or CPU resources you save by switching to a Linux distro because it doesn’t run bullshit like cookie-clicker-suck-and-fuck-bitcoin-miner-i-love-the-chinese-dictator.exe in the background and ending the process explodes your whole fucking PC… and your balls too cuz fuck you, I guess.
Which one should I choose?

In my professional opinion, it dun fucking matter anyways. At the end of the day, you have to be comfortable with both, and making the switch is a hassle. You have to put in the time and effort to learn the other one just to use it, and not even fully utilize it. If you don’t mind learning to code, reading documents, finding or making projects to perform tasks, using chatbots and communicating with others, and just spending countless hours learning Linux just to learn and have fun, then I say start with Linux Mint. If you don’t wanna do alat, then don’t. It truly doesn’t matter, cuz at the end of the day, as long as you happy, it’s all there is to it. Of course, I’m happy to educate, and you should make a decision well informed. But whatever you choose, I’m certain it’s the right one for you. Mwah 😘.
I would so fuck Misato as pen-pen watches. iwl.